Sarah Smarsh - 'She Come By It Natural: Dolly Parton and the Women Who Lived Her Songs'

11/13/2022

Sarah Smarsh's book, 'She Come By It Natural: Dolly Parton and the Women Who Lived Her Songs' was very academic and difficult to get into. It also didn't completely cover the life of Dolly Parton, and instead only highlighted a few key moments in her 71 years. I wouldn't recommend this book to anybody who didn't have a deep interest in Dolly Parton, because otherwise you will be bored. To death.

It did, however, seem to extensively cover Smarsh's family - specifically a relative called Betty and her many husbands. Smarsh's book was just 'me, me, me'. I hated it.

There was no immersivity at all - surely when reading a book about Dolly Parton, the reader would want to actually know about Parton.

Not Smarsh, or her relatives.

This book was a waste of my time, and just simply boring and too academic. It should never have been printed. It is as dissertation, and my stomach turns at the thought of having to read it again. It'll be going at the back of my shelf and will never be looked at again. Or I might sell it on eBay.