My Silent Bravery

10/16/2020

Matthew Wade of 'My Silent Bravery' recently responded to my email and let me ask him some questions. I'm so so excited to share these with you as I am quite a fond of Matt's music and his sound, and I hope that as a result of this post, you love his music too!


1) Introduce yourself and your music.

Hi everyone this is Matthew Wade of My Silent Bravery!

2) What musicians or artists have been your biggest influences and why?
I would say my biggest musical influence is Bob Marley. I love how he promoted a message of peace and unity with his music. It's something that I try to do. Also, there is a philosophical, spiritual vibe to a lot of his music and lyrics. I have some of that, but within my own way and beliefs. He's definitely my favourite.

3) If you could have tea with anybody in the world, living or dead, who would it be, why and what would you say to them?
That's a tough one! Perhaps Bob Marley for the reasons mentioned above. I would want to chat music, philosophy, spirituality and more.

4) What is your favourite part of being a musician?
My favourite part of being a musician is creating music that I hope inspires people then playing it for them live and seeing how they connect to it.

5) What is your favourite part of touring/doing shows (if you do them)?
Yes, I tour pretty frequently. My favourite part is performing for and connecting with fans. Hopefully they enjoy the music it and it impacts their life in a meaningful way.

6) What is the biggest problem regarding your music that you have had to overcome so far?
I think my biggest obstacle has been getting out the music to the masses. There is a lot of music out there so to cut through the noise as independent artist can be challenging.

7) Describe your sound
Inspirational alternative pop rock music with heartfelt lyrics and a meaningful message.

8) Can you explain your creative process? How do your songs come about?
Well every song can be a little different and I do a lot of co-writing these days. But I would say the basic process is to start with a chord progression that feels meaningful. Then a melody will be figured out to accompany the progression. Lastly the lyrics which usually follow the vibe of the chords and melody.

9) Tell me about your favourite performance venues
A few that come to mind are Mechanics Hall in my hometown in Worcester MA. I like Park West in Chicago a lot. Kaminwerk in Memmingen Germany was a recent nice one as well.

10) Please explain how you interact with and respond to fans
In person I think I am pretty down to earth and just have a conversation with them lol. On social media I do a couple live weekly streams called MSBTV where I perform songs live, and interact with fans the Bravehearts! They are awesome!

11) Explain the process of how your songs are made
I write my own songs. Lately I have been co-writing the majority of them. Jimmy McGorman of the Goo Goo Dolls has been my main writing partner over the years.

12) Where do you see yourself and your music in five years? Ten?
Hopefully I am still making music and touring the world to support it!

13) If you could 'steal' one song from history and have it written by you (without anyone knowing it isn't yours) which one would it be and why?
Another tough question. Maybe "Don't Stop Believing" by Journey. Great tune and message!


Please see one of Matt's videos below - he's awesome!