Liam Gallagher at Knebworth

06/03/2022

Liam Gallagher's first Knebworth show in Stevenage, Hertfordshire, was phenomenal.

The crowd was mental; the vibe was literally insane. I cannot describe to somebody who was not there what it felt like to be in that crowd. Is that how Knebworth '96 felt when Oasis played? Who knows.

Liam was at his top, I think. He conversed and bantered with the audience, making everyone wish they were that one person to whom he was speaking to.

I loved particularly that Liam didn't shove his new songs down your throat; sure, there were a few... and from his previous solo albums... but overall, I think the majority of them were Oasis songs. Champagne Supernova closed the night, as it did in Manchester on 1st June.


But the mess around Knebworth field was diabolical. I cannot imagine what it was like after today, the second day. Is the entire field littered with cups? Are any blades of grass even visible tonight? Who knows.