Kenneth Womack - 'John Lennon 1980: The Last Days In The Life'

09/26/2022

John Lennon 1980: The Last Days In The Life is intense. There is a lot of detail about the last five (or so) years in the life of John Lennon, and I would say that it should not be read by anybody who is not a big fan of Lennon because otherwise you will be bored. It requires an immense amount of concentration to keep going with this book, and there was several times when I wanted to put it down and stop reading entirely...

But I persevered, and I was rewarded.

Yes, it is very detailed, but what you read about in the book is stuff which has not been written about before... at least, I haven't read about it before, and I've read a lot of Lennon books.

Kenneth Womack has a great way of writing which both holds your interest and does not add embellishments to make what he is saying more relevant or more interesting than it was.

Yoko Ono and John Lennon at John Sinclair freedom rally
Yoko Ono and John Lennon at John Sinclair freedom rally

John Lennon 1980: The Last Days In The Life was long. Whilst it wasn't long physically, the intense detail included in it made it so that the reader must concentrate a lot to understand what is being said, and this makes the book quite long to read because they must be 100% focused at all times. However, it was enjoyable and I loved learning new things about 1970s John Lennon (and 1980, of course) because I feel it is a time period of his life not very well researched nor written about. John Lennon 1980: The Last Days In The Life was fascinating.