Joshua M. Greene - 'Here Comes The Sun'

09/18/2022

Chronicling the spiritual journey of guitarist George Harrison as well as the musical one, Here Comes The Sun is the first biography that I have read about the ex-Beatle.

It is one of my favourite books that I have read recently because it is a side of Harrison which is not often explored. I am not particularly interested in the religion or its practises which George Harrison followed, but I did find it interesting to learn about how the culture came across within his music.

However, at times it seemed too far fetched. I want to raise the question of how does author Joshua Greene know exactly what was said, or when George paused to take a breath whilst talking to a follower of Krishna? He does not. In the preface of his work, Greene does admit that he has had to embellish certain things in the book to make it interesting to the reader.

I wish it were more clear which parts were embellished and which were not, but nevertheless the book is enjoyable overall. As mentioned, it is a side which is not often explored in the life of Harrison, or indeed in any other artist or musician who has shown an interest in the Indian culture, religion and/or lifestyle.