Jenny Boyd

09/30/2020
Photo by Eric Swayne, used with permission of Jenny Boyd
Photo by Eric Swayne, used with permission of Jenny Boyd

Following the publication of her autobiography, 'Jennifer Juniper' in March this year, I contacted Jenny Boyd for an interview. She was very open and approachable, and I felt at once that it was like talking to somebody that I had known for a long time. She kindly agreed to answer some questions for me - and for you - and so we set up the interview.

Thank you so much, Jenny Boyd, for answering these questions: they were swirling around my head all the time that I was reading your book, and definitely afterwards.


One of the faces of the Swinging Sixties, Jenny Boyd has led quite the life, and you can read all about it in her newest book, which is her autobiography, titled 'Jennifer Juniper' after the song which Donovan, the Scottish singer/songwriter wrote for her. You can read my review of the book here:

I split my questions for Jenny into four sections; general, music, Jennifer Juniper, and The Beatles - speaking to somebody who knew John, Paul, George and Ringo personally was really cool, and I knew that I had to ask a little about them.

So here are the questions -

General

1) Jenny, you were brought up in Kenya until you were about six - what effect do you think your early upbringing there had on you and your future?

I was left feeling insecure after my upbringing in Kenya. Very rarely were adults around, and as a result, I had no sense of grounding. My Father had PTSD because of an injury which he'd suffered during the war, so there was no structure to our childhood, which is important for a child. When my mother remarried, I was frightened of my stepfather, so my siblings and I were always close.

2) You and Pattie are some of my biggest inspirations; having read both of your books, it is obvious that the two of you have seen so much, and have been through so much more. Do the two of you ever talk about your old times in the 1960s, and even before then?

It's rare that a memory comes up to talk about, so we very rarely talk about the 60s and our childhood. Life goes on, I suppose. That was then, and this is now. I am a huge believer in writing stuff down so that's a nice way of remembering things.

3) Many would argue that you and Pattie are some of the most well-known faces of the Swinging Sixties - what kind of impact has this had on your life?

Personally, I don't feel that it impacted on us because during the 60s we were seventeen, and seventeen is an exciting age anyway. We stayed in the moment, or I did at least, and I don't think the time had a big impact on my life at the time because life has so many chapters, and the 60s are just one of them.

4) I read recently that Pattie just found some of her old clothes from the sixties, and when she looked at them, she thought they were a child's size. Do you still have any of your clothes, and if so, when was the last time you look at them and what were your thoughts on the sizing, style, etc?

I don't have any clothes from my Foale and Tuffin days.

5) On that subject, I know that you left a lot of your clothes in San Francisco when George and Pattie came to bring you home - if you could have any of those pieces back, which would you choose and why?

I left all of my clothes in San Francisco, and I never saw them again. In my book, 'Jennifer Juniper', I talk about a red trouser suit. I'd love to have that back. I also had a pair of black snakeskin Moya Bowler boots, which I absolutely loved.

6) Speaking of San Francisco, you were there in 1967, and it was very much 'Flower Power' over there at that time. Having been a part of Carnaby Street here, and then a part of the 'Flower Power' movement over there, what were the main differences and similarities between the places?

Photo by John Cole, used with the permission of Jenny Boyd
Photo by John Cole, used with the permission of Jenny Boyd

Internally, London was opening up. I loved music, so I'd play it all day in the Foale and Tuffin shop. Men's boutiques were just getting set up and that was something new. Carnaby Street was about music, and it was buzzing.

In San Francisco, there was a major shift. In San Francisco, you were searching - I was searching - and I found other seekers. San Francisco was more serious than London, somehow.

7) If you had one piece of advice for yourself in, say, 1967, what would it be and why?

Don't smoke so much pot in San Francisco!

8) There are a lot of people who say that they didn't realise how monumental the 60s and 70s were when they were living in them. However, in his book, Mick Fleetwood says that he did realise what he was living through - would you say the same? Do you think that that was influenced by the people you were around at the time, or even because you and Mick were around each other?

I had no awareness. I knew that the times were exciting and different, of course, and most definitely new. I was speaking in the voice of others of that age. We had a sense of direction, a sense of freedom. It was fun and exciting and I was in love.

Mick and I often speak about the 60s. He was loved in his family and grew up in a sheltered, loving home, which I didn't. I often wonder if that's why he always had more self-confidence.


Jennifer Juniper

1) Just for those who haven't read your newest book, 'Jennifer Juniper' yet, what are the three best points in it for you?

- Going to India was amazing. I loved it. Pattie, George, Cynthia, Maureen, Jane, Paul and Ringo and John all went, and there were others there, too; Mia Farrow and Donovan and Mike Love. Others joined us later.

- The 60s as a whole. We were carefree and in love with music.

- It was hard writing about what I had achieved, working in the addiction field, with the treatment centres and the workshops that I'd set up in London, but I loved doing it.

Jenny's first book, signed and personalised for me
Jenny's first book, signed and personalised for me

2) You've previously written 'It's Not Only Rock 'n' Roll', where many musicians including George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and your ex-husband, Mick Fleetwood, have shared their creative processes - it's a little different to 'Jennifer Juniper' - what inspired you to write an autobiography and not another book like 'It's Not Only Rock 'n' Roll'?

I started my autobiography years ago to try and make sense of my life. 'Jennifer Juniper' is very different to 'It's Not Only Rock 'n' Roll'. It's very personal, and originally I wasn't sure if it was going to be a book, but once I started, I couldn't stop, though there were difficulties. And even when I was rejected from publishers, it still made me want to keep going.

3) What was the most difficult part of writing your autobiography and why?

Writing about my work with treatment. The ending was the hardest because it was like observing myself. It was hard to praise myself on all that I had achieved without sounding obnoxious - even though people had said those things to me previously.

4) What kind of support did you receive for 'Jennifer Juniper'?

Mick [Fleetwood, of Fleetwood Mac] was very supportive. My husband, David, was beside me every step of the way, encouraging me. I also worked with a woman at Harper Collins, and her name is Claudia Riemer Boutote. We only worked together on three chapters, but her help was invaluable. Friends, of course, and family were also very supportive of the book and me.

5) Are there plans to write anything in the future, and can you tell me anything about it if so?

I'm currently working on a psych piece of fiction. I started it years ago before I was certain about my memoir, and it was originally based around me and my relationship with my father... but it's changing a bit now, and it's not so autobiographical.


Music

1) For those who haven't read your second book yet, you mention that Donovan wrote a song for you, which is also where the book gets its title from, 'Jennifer Juniper'. The song, in my opinion, is beautiful and really heartfelt. What does it mean to you now and what did it mean to you then?

Then, I was absolutely blown away. It was tender and sweet, and a declaration of love. I wasn't embarrassed, but I thought, "oh, gosh!"

But now, it takes me back to Donovan singing to me, and that era. There's a certain innocence about the song, which is what - to me, anyway - that time represents.

2) Mick Jagger told you that he'd written a song for you, but never told you which one - but is there one which you suspect it might be, or do you have an almost definite idea on it?

He never told me which one. But there's some part of me that always thought it was 'Ruby Tuesday'. I sometimes call Mick's brother, and I'm tempted to ask. But I think what Mick meant when he said he wrote the song about me was that he'd based the character in it on me, and it wasn't actually about me, but rather he'd used me as a starting point.

3) You helped to write Fleetwood Mac's 1971 B-side release, 'the Purple Dancer', and many others. At the time, and even now, you weren't given credit for your input. If the credits were changed now to include your name, what would your thoughts on that be?

The credits don't matter to me. The journey is more important than the names - I now have degrees, and I never think about the credits for the songs which I contribute to. I hear them sometimes, and I think, "oh, that's nice."

4) There's a huge debate on how music should be listened to; tape or MP3? Vinyl or CD? Some people prefer it live to recorded. Which do you prefer and why?

I'm not sure, to be honest. I mostly use my Bluetooth speaker nowadays because it has a great sound, which is what dancing is all about. I haven't listened to vinyl in so long, so I feel like I can't really say anything on that front.


In Bangor, Wales: L-R: Pattie Boyd, George Harrison, Ringo Starr and Jenny Boyd. Photographer Unknown.
In Bangor, Wales: L-R: Pattie Boyd, George Harrison, Ringo Starr and Jenny Boyd. Photographer Unknown.

The Beatles

1) Who was your favourite Beatle?

George is my favourite Beatle because I knew him best. He was a sweet guy.

2) What is your favourite Beatle song?

I love 'Things We Said Today'. It takes me back to that time, that situation. It goes back to the early days, 1964. It reminds me of amazing times and new love.

3) What is your most memorable/treasured memory of the Fab Four?

I wrote about it in 'Jennifer Juniper'. It's when I was in India with dysentery, and John and Cynthia Lennon came into my room in Rishikesh. He'd drawn me a picture. Unfortunately, my mum mislaid it, so I don't have it anymore, but it was very special to me.

4) What impact did they have on your life? How has that affected you now?

Just knowing the four of them had a huge impact on my life. Up until we went to Rishikesh, I always thought of them as a foursome; but in India, I got to know them better. Then they were John, Paul, George and Ringo - not just The Beatles.