George Ezra at the London Palladium

04/12/2022
George Ezra, 12.4.2022
George Ezra, 12.4.2022

I could not have been any closer to George Ezra at the London Palladium if I had tried. I was row A - the only thing separating us was the stage. I was practically sitting in his lap! This added to the wonderful performance which Ezra and his band put on. I had heard very positive things about his shows, but nothing could have prepared me for the level of showmanship and artistry - and indeed the engagement with the crowd - which I saw last night.

From George Ezra's Instagram story (12.4.2022)
From George Ezra's Instagram story (12.4.2022)

And Ezra's voice is phenomenal. I knew this, of course, but I expected him to sound less amazing when playing live... but no. He sounds just as good on the stage as he does on his recorded music.

I count myself as very fortunate to have been at George Ezra's first live show in three years, and to have been able to buy two signed posters. I know these are authentic because there was a photo on Ezra's instagram posted about an hour before the doors opened of him signing them.

I am not an absolutely massive, over-the-top fan, but I am definitely more of a fan now than I was when I first walked into the London Palladium before the show.

George Ezra's new album Gold Rush Kid is due to be released on 10th June this year, and so far there has only been one single released from it. This song was entitled Anyone For You (Tigerlily), and was already popular with the crowd when he opened with it. However, it seemed that the most popular song played last night was the unreleased Green Green Grass, for which the audience joined in with the chorus and sang along because Ezra taught us the words prior to beginning the song.

Green Green Grass is a disarmingly jaunty little ditty which successfully leads anybody and all who listens to it away from the real meaning - death. Ezra sings for the chorus; 'green green grass / blue blue sky / say you'll throw a party on the day that I die'. This line,  he says, was found in an old journal and had come about as a result of a holiday which he had taken with two friends a while back.

Green Green Grass is due to be released before the end of April. 12th April 2022 was the first time it had ever been played to an audience, and I am beyond pleased to have been there.