Flea - 'Acid For The Children: A Memoir'

01/07/2023

Flea, bassist of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, published his memoir in 2019. It has an interesting title; 'Acid For The Children', and so I was enticed to read it despite having no interest in the RHCP or their music...

I was disappointed.

The book ends just before the Red Hot Chili Peppers begin, and is basically just Flea's recollection of his childhood and the copious amount of drugs which he did during it.

I was bored and found the book dragging despite the very short chapters - usually only two or three pages each. The chatty, colloquial way in which Flea had written his memoir made it slightly easier to get through though because as it was made less difficult to understand, but the entire thing was anti-climactic.

I expected Flea to at least get into the RHCP.

Who wants to read about somebody's childhood? Not me.


'Acid For The Children' was a total waste of my time. Perhaps if I liked the Red Hot Chili Peppers more, or had even listened to one of the band's songs, then I might be more inclined to enjoy it.

Additionally, there were so many friends of Flea's to keep track of that it made my head spin. Fair enough if different people are present in his story, but does he really have to name them all? It was so confusing, and it was definitely unnecessary.

Flea, RHCP Rock In Rio 2012. Photo by Carlos Delgado from Wikimedia Commons
Flea, RHCP Rock In Rio 2012. Photo by Carlos Delgado from Wikimedia Commons