Fischer King

12/22/2020
Fischer King
Fischer King

The self-professed "long time shadowy producer, engineer, composer and general music nerd," Fischer King is putting himself out there in a public way for the first time. The music which he makes is, in his own words, "distillation of half a lifetime's worth of musical obsessions. It's sort of pretty, and kind of creepy. A little claustrophobic, kind of pop-y. It's been weird to look at it from a distance."

Inspired by the likes of Debussy, Stravinsky and then 'Rage Against The Machine' as he grew older, moving onto 'Nine Inch Nails', 'Skinny Puppy' and then into jazz and neo-soul music, Fischer King's music is eclectic and reflects his influences, making his sound unique and like nothing which is already out in the wide world. "There is a common thread in that I am obsessed with the texture of music - the physical attributes of the production or the sound palette or just the way it's performed can almost supersede the composition."

"I live for crowd energy, and it's been so long since I've felt it." Indeed, this is the general consensus among musicians, hence why some have taken to social media to do concerts, or even released films of previously recorded footage - enter Stevie Nicks' 'Twenty-Four Karat Gold'. As a result of coronavirus, Fischer has had to adapt, "I'm pretty instagram-dependent at the moment, unfortunately. I don't have much of a following anywhere else, and Covid has made any sort of live event effectively impossible for me. It definitely wasn't an ideal time to start releasing music, but it had to be done! I'm just psyched to have fans in any form right now."

"I'm seriously concerned about the future of music venues," laments Fischer, when speaking on how he believes the COVID-19 pandemic will affect the music business, "bands depend on them. This is a situation that composers, session musicians or engineers can more easily rebound from, but damn, anyone that relies on live events is going to be hurting for a long time. It's scary." He pauses, "it [COVID-19] has been crazy stressful but I'm very thankful for how relatively lucky I've been - still got a place to live, food to eat, and a studio to work in. And luckily enough, most of the heavy lifting on the EP was done before March. The turmoil meant the final stages got a little delayed, but there was no way I wasn't finishing it. Can't keep that pot boiling forever, you know?"

Moving away from the effects of coronavirus, we talk about Fischer's newest single, link here:

"The original inspiration came from just being totally stuck. I was at a point in life where I felt like I had to stop just spinning wheels and get a project out or I'd always regret it, and this poured out over a weekend. Really helped set me on the road for finishing the EP."

"I've called it 'existential crisis pop', and the more time that passes, the more it fits." - Fischer King