David Hepworth - 'Abbey Road: The Inside Story of the World's Most Famous Recording Studios'

11/10/2022
I am not a huge fan of Hepworth's work. Whilst he always seems to write about things which I want to read, I find his style quite tiresome to get through. It hurts my head, sometimes. I don't know what it is.

However, Abbey Road: The Inside Story of the World's Most Famous Recording Studios, was different. Whilst it took me nearly a month to get through anyway - mainly because I don't get the time to devote to my reading - it was not because I did not want to read it, but because I was always busy with something else.

Abbey Road: The Inside Story of the World's Most Famous Recording Studios is a book which fills a gap in the market. Abbey Road Studios needed a definitive history, and one that could be updated as the years pass. Hepworth has fulfilled that fabulously. His in-depth research and acute eye for detail is matched against none, He seems to cover every single year of the last 91 that the studios, from the first artist to record there to the last.

Of course, I especially liked reading about The Beatles and how they recorded at the studios, and as I read, I found myself yearning to visit the studios. I have been across the zebra crossing outside, of course, but have never been inside. Occasionally, the studio runs tours - I MUST go to one of these.

Photo by Carlos Leiva via Wikimedia Commons
Photo by Carlos Leiva via Wikimedia Commons

At some points though, the book grew tedious. I don't have a huge interest in which exact machine was used for what sound in what year on whatever record. A little bit is, of course, welcome, but Hepworth took it overboard a lot, seemingly showing off his knowledge - or researching skills.

The artwork for the book is beautiful, with an iconic white Abbey Road Studios wall autographed by some of the famous names who have recorded there. Every so often, once a month, I believe, the wall outside of the Studios is white washed, and within a few weeks it is covered in names again. The title appears on a road sign with the 'NW8' of the postcode for Abbey Road, St. John's Wood.

Beneath the book cover as well, is gorgeous. The hardback is white with a black zebra crossing embossed on both front and back, and the spine has the title embossed onto a little road sign, too. When I first saw it, I was surprised at how smooth the cover design looks and feels to the touch.